DIY vintage · Old makes, new life · Sewing

Breathing new life into old creations.

In my house, I have a pale blue wooden chest. On top of it sits my orange record player, and a big vase of fake flowers.

It’s lovingly nicknamed “The chest where clothes go to die”.

It’s overflowing with projects in various states of completion, and garments I’ve made that I’ve later fallen out of love with. Some finished pieces just don’t meet my standards. If it didn’t turn out how I pictured, or the fit doesn’t work for me, then it’s off to the chest where clothes go to die. I may not be the most technical seamstress, the fit has to be perfect! If not, into the chest it goes, to be re-used or remade when I’m ready.

It’s particularly useful when I’m running low on inspiration, or don’t feel like starting a whole new project.

Of late, I’ve been rather lacking in inspiration, so at the weekend, I had a good old rummage around, and pulled out two slightly boring, nondescript pencil dresses I made a while back.

There’s nothing wrong with them as such- a few little adjustments here and there soon sorted out the problems with fit- but they didn’t stand out. Just two sad, plain pencil dresses, both with thin straps and sweetheart necklines. One black and one leopard print, languishing in the chest where clothes go to die.

It seemed silly to let them go to waste as they had so much potential, so I set myself a task- to liven up the dresses, and turn them into something I want to wear.

20180909_220049

This was the leopard print dress-  sadly i forgot to photograph the black one.

Two things in particular inspired these mini-makeovers- the sudden hot weather, and the goddess that is Amy Winehouse. Say what you will about Amy, but that girl knew how to dress! With her fabulous beehive and her cute little pin-up style dresses, she knew how to take vintage style and make it her own.

So, out came the scissors & the sewing machine!

For the black dress, I adjusted the straps, as before the neckline sat too high and the straps rubbed my shoulders. I also cut a good 3 inches off the hem, restitched it, and used some leftover black fabric from another project to make a little band around the top of the bodice. I then added a couple of buttons down the centre front.

For the leopard print dress, I did the same- minus the strap adjustments. This time, I cut about 4 inches off the hem, and added a black band to the bodice, and again, added a few buttons down the front.

Each dress took about an hour to jazz up- not long at all.

I ended up wearing the black dress when I went out for  a work event on Saturday evening. I’m pleased to report there were no more issues with the straps rubbing, and it was nice to get some wear out of the dress at last. I even got a few compliments, which was lovely!

Tips for giving old clothes new life:

  • keep your scraps! If you’ve got a piece of fabric that’s too small for a whole garment but too big for the bin, stash it somewhere ready for a little project update. Make a contrasting belt/contrasting bodice band/add pockets.
  • You can never have enough buttons! Keep all your buttons- odd, matching pairs, 7 off that old blouse you never wore- keep them in a tin ready for action. And if you see some cute buttons while out shopping, get them. You’ll use them. Add buttons to cuffs/ bodice/ centre of a skirt/detailing on straps.
  • Lace, ribbons and other cute trims can be used to add a little more personality to an old, unloved project. Save any bits that are a decent length. Add a bow/lace trim/fringe/contrasting ribbon along the hem.
  • Start small- adjustments to the shape of a neckline or the length of a hem can work wonders for livening up a tired out piece. Add a slit/ contrasting panel to the hem/make it shorter. Or change from thin straps to a halter neck/long sleeve to short/sleeves to strapless? The choice is yours! Just be prepared to do a little adjustment to the bust area.
  • Brainstorm first! Think about why you don’t like that garment any more. Sketch out a few ideas. Add to it if you feel it needs some extra love. Change what you don’t like!

Happy sewing!

Eliza xx

Leave a comment